Warning: in_array() expects parameter 2 to be array, string given in /home/turksandcaicos/www/www/wp-content/plugins/astra-addon/addons/blog-pro/classes/class-astra-ext-blog-pro-images-resizer.php on line 166

All the Caribbean countries that are currently open for tourism

From the Bahamas to Bermuda, these are all the Caribbean islands reopening to tourists this summer

Photograph: Shutterstock

An island vacation might actually be on the cards this year. The islands that make up the Caribbean are in various stages of reopening this summer, with many countries already open to tourists. From the Bahamas to Bermuda, these are all the Caribbean islands reopening to tourists this summer:  


AntiguaAntigua will allow flights from the United States to recommence on June 4. To be allowed into the country, travelers will need to provide proof of a negative COVID-19 test upon arrival at the airport.

Jamaica: Jamaica reopened to tourists from all countries on June 15. 

St. Barth: St. Barth will reopen June 22 with all beaches, restaurants and stores open without restrictions. Tourists must provide a COVID-negative RT-PCR test performed within three days prior to the visitor’s departure. 

St. LuciaSt. Lucia began a phased reopening on June 4, allowing only tourists from the United States. Visitors must also present certified proof of a negative coronavirus test taken within 48 hours of boarding their flights when arriving on the island and must also continue wearing face masks and practicing social distancing. Phase two of reopening starts August 1. 

US Virgin IslandsThe islands have been open since June 1. The nation’s stay-at-home order still requires masks to be worn in public buildings, limits gatherings to 10 people or less, and requires bars and restaurants to operate at 50 percent capacity.

Photograph: Courtesy Bermuda Tourism Authority


ArubaAruba currently allows visitors from Bonaire and Curaçao. Tourism from other Caribbean nations (except the Dominican Republic and Haiti), Europe, and Canada will begin on July 1. United States tourism will begin on July 10. 

Bahamas: As part of a phased opening, the islands will welcome private yachts and planes starting June 15 before opening for commercial tourism on July 1. 

BermudaBermuda will reopen to international air travel on July 1, but before arriving on the island, visitors will be required to obtain a certified negative PCR COVID-19 test within 72 hours of departure.

Dominican Republic: The DR will reopen for tourism starting July 1 as part of the fourth phase of its reopening plan.

BarbadosA negative test will be required for entry into Barbados starting July 12. 

Puerto RicoPuerto Rice will reopen on July 15. Temperature checks will be enforced and anyone with a temperature over 100.3 will be denied entry.

Turks and CaicosOn June 5, Turks and Caicos will allow businesses to reopen, and restaurants plan to reopen on July 6 before tourism commences on July 22. 

CUBA Photograph: Shutterstock/Sean Pavone


CubaCuba will allow tourism in late August but Havana and the mainland will be off-limits. International visitors will be bussed directly to all-inclusive resorts on Cuba’s outlying islands. At airports, all arriving travelers will be given mandatory PCR (swab) and temperature tests. 

Source: Time Out

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top


Stay up-to-date


By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: . You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact